The Third Side of the Story of Us

There was a time when you came to me. I was your rock, your solid ground when you felt like falling.

There was a time when the light you woke up to was me. Your day started with saying hello to me.

There was a time when missing me felt like missing a lung.

There was a time when you loved me.

What happened?

 

There’s been a third wheel attached to us. But instead of behind us, it took my place. Leaving me trailing behind. Looking at our tracks you couldn’t tell. But seeing the whole picture you could see. You didn’t really care for me.

Now something has stolen my place. It’s dimmed my light so that it seemed brighter. No longer you come to me for stability. No longer are we a pair. You found something else that has changed your life more than I ever could.

If you would think that I’d ask you to give it up, you do not know me at all. I have loved you through it all. And although I saw it take over, I still held on. I held on to you. Thinking that if I just held on, you’d realize that I’ve always been there.

But I will never be there for you if you don’t look for me. So instead of making you miserable, I’m letting you go. Go and feel free to indulge in what really makes you happy. I could never live with myself knowing that I was keeping you from something you love.

I just really hate that the thing taking my place is something so silly. But I do not love it as much as you do. And you do not love me as much as you do it. So I’m putting my foot down and saying that I deserve to be loved as much as I love. Because I would rather fight with you than fall in love with anyone else. But I would never force you to stay with someone you don’t love.

Leave a Reply

